Scholarship: GFC Prescribed Fire Certification Training Course (Lunch Provided)
Prescribed fire is defined as fire applied in a knowledgeable manner to forest fuels on a specific land area under selected weather conditions to accomplish predetermined, well-defined management objectives. Georgia Forestry Commission instructors will provide instruction on subjects such as fire behavior, fire weather and fire tactics. Course includes self-study materials online with a hard copy given to participants at the class, a two-day training session and a written state exam. Applicants for certification must pass this exam, have two years of experience and meet a prerequisite of having been the person in charge of five prescribed burns before becoming a certified prescribed burner in Georgia. Coffee and biscuits in the morning before class and Lunch will be provided.
-Participants will be familiarized with Georgia laws and regulations regarding prescribed burning.
-Participants will be familiarized with fire weather, how it relates to prescribed burning, and how to obtain weather information.
-Participants will be familiarized with firing techniques and smoke management as it applies to prescribed burning.
-Participants will become familiar with Air Quality issues in GA, EPD Air Quality laws and the impact that Rx fire has on air quality.
-Participants will be given instructions on how to deal with the media, and the public when questioned about Rx fire. Techniques on how to answer media questions will be presented.
-Participants, upon completion of course, will be qualified to become certified burners in Georgia. Affidavit required for certification, but not needed to attend course.
Please register before May 27th, 2024
Date: June 11th & 12th, 2024
Location: Appalachian Campus, Building B, Room 261
Time: Registration 7:30-8am Course 8am-4:30pm
Course Registration is FREE to the first 23 participants who meet the above criteria.
Cancellation and Refund Policy:
If CTC deems it necessary to cancel a class or testing session for any reason, you will be able to receive a full refund or transfer to another class date or testing session, if available.
Requests for refunds made at least 5 business days prior to a course beginning are subject to a 3% processing fee.
To request a refund please email firstname.lastname@example.org.
There are no refunds for requests made less than 5 business days prior to a course beginning.